So you want to learn Synthesizer V

Hi there!

If you’re reading this post, then most probably you are like me, who enjoyed listening to Hatsune Miku and other Vocaloid (or Piapro Characters) songs. And you thought to yourself, “This is so cool! I want to produce something like this”. With your new-found determination, you are looking for some way to create them sweet, sweet music using a vocal synthesizer.

Background of me

First and foremost, I’m not a music producer. Though I have some knowledge of music since I have been playing the guitar for several years already, and my music theory knowledge is just so-so. I have never touched any vocal synth software similar to Vocaloid, nor have I used any DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) ever. I’m picking up music production as a hobby. Maybe in the future, I would like to try to produce some original work.

From this perspective, the only objective for this post is as follows:

To learn Synthesizer V as quickly as possible.

Methodology

Several approaches to learning can be enumerated as follows:

• Creating random vocal notes, pressing all the buttons and turning all switches, and trying to break the software. (Not the recommended way, but it’s really fun to do it anyway)
  • Creating a music cover from a well-known work (recommended way)
  • Creating original music using DAW in tandem with Synthesizer V (advance to pro level)

Based on the list above, the 2nd methodology is the best of the 3 since you are treating your learning experience as a project (using the SMART principle, Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Resource-bounded, Time-bounded).

Gathering Resources

Since I’m a big fan of Wowaka’s work (R.I.P.), I have picked “Unknown Mother Goose” to be covered, specifically, the chorus part. Now, I’m not Japanese nor speak in Nihonggo, so I referred to one of the covers of Will Stetson’s English Cover