Recreating English words in Japanese VB

Hello there! I’m actually pretty new to using vocal synthesis, yet I’m kinda struggling with some things…

At the moment, I’d just like to know how to write English words like “but”, using a Japanese VB

I’ve been using phonemes charts so far when using both VB, as for now, Saki and Eleanor Forte, yet I kinda don’t get how to do something like that. I try writing “b a t u” and lowering the accent (I think that’s how it’s called) of “u” in the note’s properties, yet that doesn’t actually work for what I intend…

Any help regarding this would be pretty much appreciated. :,)

I haven’t done anything like this for Synth V and I avoid doing this whenever possible. But the first thing you need to understand is the Japanese Syllabet and how to form english phrases out of Japanese if your using a Japanese voicebank.

For ‘but’ there are two combinations I can think of: バット and ブット depending on your english accent. For some vocal synths it’s as simple as typing those words in there and working with the phonemes it gives you to painstakingly tune phoneme by phoneme into a more accurate sound until you have something you like or you hit the “good enough” point with how engrishy it sounds.

In others, like Utau which may not have a little tsu in it’s voicebanks, you’ll have to space and adjust the phonemes to work around it.

First, it helps SO much to know the Japanese Syllabet, just so these “tricks” become more second-nature, and less looking-stuff-up.

Next, it helps to know how to activate phoneme view on your notes, and how to check them in note properties. In my SynthV (studio 1.05 - with Saki full), typing “But” shows the phonemes “b a cl”

In your note properties you can edit this. I just tried “b a t” with “t” set to “Alt 1” pronunciation. Sounds great!

You can also get creative. If I want Saki to say “but why” I can use two words: “ba” “tuwai” - then turn down the U slider.