Best practices...

I’m new to Synthesizer V (with the Solaria voicebank). I used Vocaloid years ago, but nothing for voice since.

What’s the best way to come up to speed on the terminology, technology, and available resources? I’ve tried looking through this forum (resources in particular), but don’t really come up with much, and it seems that lots of people are getting info from somewhere, but I can’t figure out where.

I love how easy it is to work with SV compared to my old Vocaloid (v3 - Avanna was the last one I had I think). It works really well inside of Cubase as a VST, the results, with very little effort are just amazing. I’m getting good results on day one (for a beginner!), but I just want to make sure I’m going on the right track and using best practices for programming it.

Current documentation isn’t their strong suit.

There’s an official video series here: Synthesizer V Studio: A First Glance - YouTube

New features get announced, but the documentation of how to use a feature can be non-existent. For example, I think the way I found out about how to use Tone Shift was in the comments section of YouTube.

「いいね!」 3

Yeah, I’ve watched the videos, but they’re not much help when the software is not in English (or at least a language using the Latin alphabet, where you can usually decipher words even if not in your native language). I’ll go back and check the comments sections though. Never thought of that.

It sadly seems to be the way everything goes these days. Technical manuals seem to be virtually extinct. I guess that’s what happens when you can roll out an update in next to no time and it changes everything. LOL. Maybe a Wiki would be a good thing.

Plus, the official forum and website doesn’t seem to be the primary source of information. The fact that the website seems more intent on being clever than usable doesn’t help.