Creating a Cover is this even the right approach?

Hey!
I tried to create a cover of the song “happy” by Pharrell Williams and I’m new to all of this.
My objective is that it should sound decent (it does not have to be a master piece) however it should not take too much time to create (a few days).

I tried the following:

1. Get a midi file (I took this one Happy Pharrell Williams | MIDI DB | Free MIDI Files)
  2. Import midi into synthesizer V
  3. Find lyrics of the song
  4. Write the lyrics on the notes of the midi file (I did not change anything about the notes).

was this the right approach?
When I listen to it, it sounds like as if this is a terrible approach :sweat_smile:

However how do I do it the right way?
My assumption is that maybe the notes in the midi file do not always correspond to one word?

Any tips are highly appreciated!

It looks like the MIDI file you’re using was made for the instrumental parts, not vocals.

So not only do the notes not match the actual vocal track, but they’re not connected properly in a way that SynthV Studio can sing smoothly; the gaps in between the notes cause it to insert silence, resulting in a “choppy” sound.

Most MIDI files on the internet will not be made with vocal synth software in mind. You’ll usually have more luck searching for a vocal synth project file and then converting it using UtaFormatix (UtaFormatix). Common file formats would be VSQx, UST, or SVP, but you can check UtaFormatix for a full list.

You might also be able to find sheet music for the vocal part, which may or may not be in a format you can convert/import to SynthV Studio.

Also keep in mind there’s nothing stopping you from charting the notes yourself. Try dragging the original song into SynthV Studio and entering notes that match what you hear. It’ll take a while, but you won’t always be able to use a file someone else made.

After all, that’s how people created those files you’re searching Google for in the first place.