Piano Roll Labels

Hi there!

Long story short, I am not good with pianos. Played it for years, had to have tape with written labels on all the keys so I knew what note was which. (Don’t even get me started on how I literally cannot read sheet music)

I’ve been trying to get the courage to make my own song. Sometimes I just want to make some silly acapellas in SynthV, but can’t because I don’t know what the notes are past the labelled Cs to practice some chords and harmony making.

In LMMS, there was a toggle to label all of the keys on the piano roll. I looked high and low for any information if that could be done with SynthV, but came up empty.

Is there a way to add the labels of all the notes onto the piano roll in the program itself already and I just missed it, or is this something that would have to be scripted? I’d also rather not have to look between LMMS and SynthV constantly.

Included are some example images, with the SynthV roll and the LMMS roll, in case I wasn’t clear in my explanation.

Thank you for any help! :blue_heart:

As far as I know, there’s no way to set labels. It would be nice, but it’s not there. :anguished:

There’s really no good way around this: you’re going to have to learn the notes. And even if the notes had labels on them, you’d have to keep glancing to the keys to see what note you’re on.

That’s a painful way to work.

Reading piano roll isn’t nearly as hard as reading notes on a musical staff. In fact, it’s actually much easier. That’s because unlike the musical staff, the pattern doesn’t change as you move up and down.

The first thing you look for is the grouping of two dark notes:

And three notes:

See how that color pattern of dark/light extends horizontally in SynthesizerV? It’s not there in LMMS, which makes reading the piano roll in LMMS unreasonably difficult, because all the notes look the same unless you look back at the keys.