How do you usually mix vocals?

Like what DAW, EQ, compressor, reverb etc do you use for the vocals? I’m trying to get better at mixing but I can never get the right sound, specially when using Solaria. Do you have any advice?

「いいね!」 2

I’m far from an expert, but I think it’s important to start by saying it doesn’t matter which exact tools you use, as long as you know the ideas behind how they work and what they do to a sound.

For example, just because FabFilter Pro-Q 3 is one of the most popular EQ plugins does not mean you should go out and spend $169+ on it.

Most DAWs will come with a sufficient set of stock plugins that can do everything you need, and those fancy paid plugins usually require that you have a good grasp of the basic usage before you can even start to make the pricetag worth it. If your DAW seems lacking in some areas, many people suggest the free Kilohearts Essentials package, which should fill any gaps.

As for what I personally use, as a DAW I went with FL Studio. My reasons for this are:

• Future updates at no additional cost
  • A solid set of stock plugins with few gaps
  • Many online tutorials

For mixing, I generally start with pitch correction. This might seem silly when using a synth, but personally I like the results of having some gentle automatic pitch correction on the vocals. MAutoPitch is a solid free option.

Then a targeted EQ to get rid of any problematic frequencies. Very narrow notches targeting any frequencies that are too harsh or which resonate in a bad way. The exact frequencies will be different each time.

Next is compression. I start with a very basic compressor (Fruity Compressor), usually at 3-4 ratio and a fast attack. The other settings are all different based on the vocalist and song. Here’s a good video explaining compression: Production Basics 4: Compression - YouTube

Then a broad EQ, adjusting the lows/mids/highs depending on the sound I want for the song.